Lady Was Singing The Blues / cd|16

hfc_cd16_thu

There are some great voices from the past that accompany us till today. Nina Simone, Billie Holiday, Edith Piaf, Aretha Franklin, Ella Fitzgerald, Dinah Washington are some of the greatest female voices ever. Voices that you hear once and either you love instantly or never really appreciate for the rest of your life. I’ve heard this compilation many times before I post it. Each time I heard it, the same question was kept bothering me: “Are there any new female artists that can get any close to those legends nowadays?” I’m sorry but you’ll have to wait a couple of days for the answer… Be patient.

Meanwhile enjoy this one…

01. Nina Simone | Feeling Good
02. Billie Holiday | Summertime
03. Edith Piaf | La Vie En Rose
04. Shirley Bassey | Diamonds Are Forever
05. Peggy Lee | Fever
06. Dusty Springfield | The Look Of Love
07. Julie London | Cry Me A River
08. Dinah Shore & Andre Previn | My Funny Valentine
09. Etta James | I Just Wanna Make Love To You
10. Aretha Franklin | I Say A Little Prayer
11. Erma Franklin | Light My Fire
12. Ella Fitzgerald | I Love Paris
13. Dinah Washington | Mad About the Boy
14. Dianne Reeves | In a Sentimental Mood
15. Bobbie Gentry | Son of a Preacher-Man
16. Marlena Shaw | Woman of the Ghetto
17. Diana Ross & the Supremes | Baby Love
18. Martha Reeves & the Vandellas | Nowhere to Run
19. Mary Wells | My Guy
20. Thelma Houston | Don’t Leave Me This Way
21. Cesaria Evora | Sodade (Live)
22. Doris Day | Fly Me to the Moon

[Running Time: 01:19:39]

Leave a Reply

